The Story of Our New Old House

Some things get done because people want to do them.

Some things get done because people need to do them.

Our new old house is the result of both.

But, before I get into the story of our new old house, I need to explain the context in which this blog is being written.

We bought a small single floor home that had been added onto over the years.  The additions weren’t very well done and the house was in need of repair.  We bought it in order to remodel it into a two storey home.

Before (2009)

Before (2009) of the front (west) side.

044 jpg1

The right (south) side (2009).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

There came a point in our project in which we needed to petition for a variance in order to build a second floor wall above an existing first floor wall.  For whatever reason it came to be, the front wall of the house we bought was a couple feet forward of the minimum setback requirement.  While I could have recessed the second floor, to do so would have been undesirable for many reasons.  So, while we were at it, we brought the design forward a couple feet more and requested a variance of about 5’0″.

Part of the process, to petition for a variance, is to notify all the property owners, in a given radius around our property, of our intentions and their opportunity to appear at the hearing to give their opinion.  I typed a brief one page letter about the details of our proposed project and when and where the hearing would take place.  I also included an elevation drawing, at the bottom of the letter, of the proposed home we intended to build; just to give fair warning.  It was in my mind that now would be the time to hear any complaints; not after the framing was completed.

No one appeared at the hearing.  The details of our project seemed never to be an issue with the zoning appeals board; just the details of what some previous owner had already done; without permission.  We agreed to undo them.

At this point I was relieved for two reasons:

1) we got our variance; so the project could move forward

2) none of our neighbours appeared at the hearing to complain about the project

Let me explain.  I tend to go through life with the philosophy that I should be free to do what I want as long as it doesn’t adversely impact anyone else.  While that may sound like I reserve a great amount of freedom for myself it doesn’t.  I’m almost constantly thinking about the possible ramifications of my actions and, as a result, I tend to do be anal about following the law, doing the right thing, and putting others first.

However, I failed to think about others while I was designing our home.  I was so focused on the design process that ‘public opinion’ never entered my mind until I learned about needing the variance.  Then, all of a sudden, my work was to be subjected to judgment and opinion.  I’ve rarely fared well in those situations.

Thereafter, we moved ahead with our project.  But very little about it came easy or inexpensively; because of its nature, design, and my determination to have it done my way.  That is, once we were issued the building permit.

I clearly remember the first time someone drove by and commented about what we were doing.  The house was framed, sheathed, and the roofers had just finished putting on the shingles that day.  The roofing shingles gave the house its initial defining characteristic; from which one could more easily visualize the ‘character’ we were shooting for.

P1000690

During (2012) The two small flanking windows would be trimmed as though they are full double-hungs. The one on the right is in a shower. The one on the left made small for visual balance. Eventually, the bottom half of the trimmed-out frame will contain a wood medallion insert.

During (2012).

During (2012). This is the angle of view one gets as they drive past from south to north. While the trees block the view of the house, we think the trees are perfectly located.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Throughout the next week, and the weeks that followed, hardly a day passed without someone driving by and giving us a thumbs up, hollering “great job”, or jubilant honking.

I was very much caught off-guard by the reception the house received and I really didn’t know what to make of the attention.  All of us, still working on the house, appreciated knowing our hard work was appreciated by the community.

And there were days of frustration and exhaustion when a compliment reminded us of the impact of our work and helped us push ourselves to complete that last task of the day.

During the following year the frequency of the compliments dropped down somewhat but not by much.  I’m sure the frequent travelers got used to seeing it but the new ones, usually on the weekends, would slow to a crawl as they drove by.  If we were outside they’d honk or stop to chat.  Like an excited child with a new toy, I chat too much about it when given a chance.  I’m embarrassed afterward.

P1000757

As the cedar clapboard siding goes up, my wife and I would take advantage of the scaffolding to paint (see left side of house).

P1000753

As seen on the tower, many thought the gray and white primer and was the finished colour of a vinyl siding. Many asked why we were painting new vinyl siding blue.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It’s been two years since that first Summer when the last of the sub-contractors finished their work on the exterior and my wife and I took over the Do-It-Yourself (DIY) portion.  The interior has since become my main focus, except this Summer, when my wife insisted we make the front yard more presentable for the neighbours.  We still get the occasional compliment.  And I still don’t know what to make of the attention.

Eventually, as my workload became less urgent, after receiving our Certificate of Occupancy, my attention turned toward thinking of ways I could empower others to execute remodels that reflect the owners’ character and values.  While I appreciate the uniqueness of our home and the compliments we’ve received, I would much rather help others derive similar pleasure from their own home.

To see what, if any, interest others might have in remodeling their house I thought it might be a good first step to start this blog about how our house came about; what steps we took and how we did things.  This is a modest first step, perhaps just useful for helping me organize my thoughts.  But, most of all, I just wanted a chance to say, “thank you”, to everyone who’s kind support and encouragement has helped us get through the long, slow process of getting the house and landscaping closer to “finished”.

038 edit

First Winter (2013) Before the trim is painted. The small flanking windows have been trimmed as though they’re double-hungs. I hadn’t gotten to installing the temporary wood insert.

4 thoughts on “The Story of Our New Old House

  1. James, I found your blog! I loved reading all about the transformation of your home, and especially loved seeing the pictures from all different stages.

    Like

  2. I’m really looking forward to reading more posts about your experiences! I have fallen in love with our home over the past three years because of fixing it up; and wish I would have reached out through blogging way back then. You can never get enough helpful info, ideas, encouragement, and inspiration when you’re in the middle of messy renovations! I’ll be looking for your posts! All the Best, CJ

    Like

    • Lakeside, And following your blog will help remind me how much I’m not alone in such an endeavor. It’s one thing to drive by and see someone working on their home; it’s another to follow the story and get a feel for the high’s and low’s of going through it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment